top of page

How To Control A Room of 400+ Middle School Students


I went to speak to Mifflin MS a couple weeks ago. I t was their last Friday of school before starting summer break. As I park and start walking into the entrance of the school, I see the entire student body waiting for the school to open. As the bell rings and the door unlocks, 2 more buses full of kids pull up. I headed straight to the office to meet the guidence counselor so I can figure out where I am going to speak. I was invited to talk to the students but I wasn't sure in what time of setting. Prior to this, I have talk to big groups but they have all been in a library or classroom setting.

I greet the counselor and he informs me that I will be speaking in the auditorium. I let him know I like to interact with the students and get them involved so I don't want to stand up on the stage. I feel like they listen better when I walk around and talk with them rather than talking to them. As we walk around the school I ask the question I've been wanting to know all morning "How many kids will be in here" the counselor's response: " About 400+ students, 6th through 8th graders" Haha....Wouldn't even lie, I got a little nervous at first. I've played in front of hundreds/thousands of people and have never been nervous...but speaking in front of that many people initially is a lot different

So as I am in the auditorium waiting for all the kids to get in after breakfast, I'm going over what I want to say to them and how I want to do my introduction. On a Friday I know for a face that they don't really want to be in a assembly listening to someone speak for a hole period. The kids start coming in and sitting down- I begin walking around and shaking hands, joking around, getting the kids on my team pretty much. I know if I can chop it up with them and build that rapport with them before I get u and speak, that they'll be more inclined to actually listen instead of blowing me off. I know what it's like to be sitting where they are. So I know how easy it is to zone out or just clown with one of my friends to kill time. To my surprise , the entire time I spoke it was completely silent. The students were beyond attentive. They asked a lot of questions and interacted with me very well. Ususally, when you get students in a big setting like that they tend to not want to raise their hand or speak just because it's a lot of people around. So for them to be that active and engaging, I truly appreciated it.

The staff over at Mifflin Middle School is doing a great job. They have great students and I look forward to going back!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page